Life Style

Six books shortlisted for Man Booker International Prize, Entertainment News & Top Stories

LONDON • Two previous winners are amongst six authors whose books have made a shortlist for the Man Booker International Prize.

The award recognises literary works translated into English and printed in Britain.

It is distinct from the Man Booker Prize, which is awarded to works initially printed in English.

The honour comes with a money prize of £50,000 (S$93,000), which is cut up equally between the writer and the translators.

“This is a shortlist emblematic of the many adventures of fiction – its making and reading,” Ms Lisa Appignanesi, chairman of this 12 months’s Man Booker International Prize judging panel, stated.

“We have mesmeric meditations; raucous, sexy, state-of-the-nation stories; haunting sparseness and sprawling tales; enigmatic cabinets of curiosity and daring acts of imaginative projection – all this plus sparkling encounters with prose in translation.”

  • This 12 months’s nominees

  • 1. Virginie Despentes’ Vernon Subutex 1 (France) – a couple of down-and-out former music retailer proprietor in Paris

    2. Han Kang’s The White Book (South Korea) – revolving across the dying of the unnamed narrator’s older sister

    three. Laszlo Krasznahorkai’s The World Goes On (Hungary) – a set of 21 tales

    four. Antonio Munoz Molina’s Like A Fading Shadow (Spain) – about James Earl Ray, who assassinated American civil rights chief Martin Luther King Jr in 1968

    5. Ahmed Saadawi’s Frankenstein In Baghdad (Iraq) – a re-imagining of Mary Shelley’s monster story set within the aftermath of the United States’ invasion of Iraq

    6. Olga Tokarczuk’s Flights (Poland) – a philosophical meditation on modern-day travel

Among the six authors, Han Kang received in 2016 for The Vegetarian, whereas Laszlo Krasznahorkai triumphed in 2015, earlier than the prize’s format was modified.

The Booker Prize Foundation modified the main focus of the worldwide award that 12 months to recognise a single e book of fiction translated into English and printed in Britain.

Since 2005, the prize had been awarded to an writer for a complete physique of labor. This 12 months’s record can be dominated by books from impartial publishers. Last 12 months’s winner was Israeli writer David Grossman for A Horse Walks Into A Bar, a couple of comic’s stand-up routine gone unsuitable.

The recipient of this 12 months’s award can be introduced on May 22.


Tech News


Show More

Related Articles